Alec Clark elected as a councillor

Alec Clark pictured at the recent Girvan hustings.
Alec Clark pictured at the recent Girvan hustings.

INDEPENDENT candidate and former chairman of Girvan and District community council, Alec Clark, has been elected to serve as a councillor.

Mr Clark, who was standing in the local elections for the first time, said he would be a “champion” for Girvan and district within the local authority.

Mr Clark was elected in stage one of the voting under the single transferrable vote system.

Conservative councillor Ian Fitzsimmons loses his seat in Girvan.

Re-elected were SNP councillor Alec Oattes and John McDowall, leader of the Labour group on South Ayrshire Council who were elected in stage three.

See next week’s Carrick Gazette for full local reaction.


Ward 8: Girvan & South Carrick.

Alec Clark, Independent: Stage 1

John McDowall, Scottish Labour Party: Stage 3

Alec Oattes, Scottish National Party (SNP): Stage 3

The percentage poll was 42.88%, with 3,396 valid papers and 31 rejected papers.