Barr celebrates the Bard

The children who took part in the Barrhill school competition with judges Alastair Sykes and Andrew Gillon.
The children who took part in the Barrhill school competition with judges Alastair Sykes and Andrew Gillon.

The Community Hall at Barr was the venue for the celebration of the Barr and District Burns Club’s 64th annual Burns Supper on Friday 6th February

Chairman Andrew Gillon the chairman extended a warm welcome to the gathered Cronies. Pipe Major Hamish Denham piped in the haggis for the traditional address by Gordon Clark, the company was then served a traditional meal prepared by Ann Kennedy.

The Toast of the Immortal Memory was proposed by Jim Morrison, a plumbing engineer from Auchinleck and noted Burns enthusiast. Mr Morrison spoke about various times throughout his life, his knowledge of Burns was exceptional and the company enjoyed many references of Burns recitations, he then concluded the memory with the toast.

Stuart McKinlay then performed a superb rendition of “Holy Willie’s Prayer” which brought a huge ovation from the gathering his further poetic offering “A prologue at the theatre of Dumfries” was equally enjoyed.

The Toast to The Lassies was proposed by Lex Muir from Newton Stewart Burns club in a humorous manner, he touched on the many lassies in Burns life and concluded with a traditional toast.

Alec Ross replied on behalf of the lassies in an equally humorous way. Ian Glennie from Lanarkshire gave a passionate address on “Auld Scotia”, an ex-Aberdonian was hilarious on his view of the Scots language. Tom Reid replied and was equally witty with his reply. Throughout the evening singer Grant Woodburn a farmer from Galston was in grand voice singing unaccompanied many Burns love songs and also lead the community singing.

Peter Campbell proposed the Vote of Thanks to all speakers as well as the Chairman, Host, Hostesses, and Artistes he ensured each contribution was properly accorded thanks for the part it had played in the 2015 Barr & District Burns Club “Supper”.

The chairman announced that this year the primary schools Burns competition ware held at both Barr and Barrhill primary schools. The competitions were organised by head teacher Mr Fraser Baird and his staff. The Barr competition was judged by Bill Dunlop. The Barrhill competition was judged by Andrew Gillon & Alistair Sykes.

The Burns club is proud to continue to support the competitions with the assistance of the Barr & Barrhill community council’s and congratulates all winners.

Barr Primary winners

P1: Rosie Denham – Runner Up: Molly McFegan

P2: Emily Wilson – Runner Up: Ceilidh Lorimer

P3: Thomas Denham – Runner UP: Kyle Farmery

P4: Bailey Wilson – Runner Up: Stewart McClinton

P5/6: Nathan Harvey – Runner UP:  Eleanor Gunson

P7: David Campbell – Runner Up: Ewan MacKenzie

Barrhill Primary winners

P1/2: Daisy Redman

P3: Alisha Dennett

P4/5: Iona Thomson

P6/7: Ethan Wild