Barr hosts celebration of the bard

The Community Hall at Barr was the venue for the celebration of the Barr and District Burns Club’s 65th annual Burns Supper on Friday.

Chairman Andrew Gillon extended a warm welcome to the 80 gathered cronies.

Pipe Major Hamish Denham proudly led in the haggis for the address from Gordon Clark.

The company was served a traditional meal prepared by Ann Kennedy.

The Toast of the Immortal Memory was proposed by Iain Glennie ,a professional officer with the Secondary School Teachers Association Union .Iain, from Larkhall and a noted Burns enthusiast, spoke about various times throughout the bard’s life. His knowledge of Burns was exceptional and the company enjoyed many references to recitations of the work of Burns.

Jamie Houston then performed a superb rendition of Tam O’Shanter which brought a huge ovation from the gathering. His further poetic offerings of To a Louse and Willie Wastle were equally enjoyed.

The Toast The Lassies was proposed by Ian Petrie from Newton Stewart Burns Club. In a humorous manner, he touched on the many lassies in Burns life and concluded with a traditional toast.

Neil Gillon replied on behalf of the lassies in an equally humorous manner.

Jim Hair, a farmer from Dalry, gave a passionate address to Auld Scotia and his Scottish farming theme was central to his toast.

Throughout the evening singer Grant Woodburn, a farmer from Galston, was in grand voice singing unaccompanied many of Burns love songs and also led the community singing.

Peter Campbell proposed the Vote of Thanks to all speakers as well as the chairman, host, hostesses, and artistes. He ensured each contribution was properly accorded thanks for the part played in the 2016 Barr and District Burns Club Supper.

The chairman spoke of the death last year of past club secretary Bill Dunlop.

Bill, he said, had been a member for 40 years and sectary for 32 years utill he retired.

The committee has purchased a memorial trophy which is to be awarded to the best performance at the Barr School competition which Bill had judged on many occasions.

This year’s winner was Nathan Harvey.

The competitions were organised by the school head teacher Mr Fraser Baird and his staff.

The Barr competition was judged by Gordon Clark and Robert Sykes. Winners:-

P1: Hermoine Blair; Runner Up: Mason Wright. P2: Rosie Denham: runner up: Molly McFegan. P3: Emily Wilson; runner up: Kieran Blanchard. P4: Bonnie Darbyshire ; runner up: Thomas Denham. P5/6: Bailey Wilson; runner up: Darcey Trotter. P7: Nathan Harvey; runner up: Eleanor Gunson.

The club is proud to continue its support with the assistance of the Barr and Barrhill community councils and Carrick Futures’ small grant funds.