Candidates announced for election

A TOTAL of 44 candidates will stand at the South Ayrshire Council election on Thursday, May 3.

Thirty councillors will be elected on May 3 to serve the people of South Ayrshire across eight Council wards – Troon; Prestwick; Ayr North; Ayr East; Ayr West; Kyle; Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton; and Girvan & South Carrick. Each ward is served by three or four councillors, depending on its population.

The candidates in Carrick are: Ward 7: Maybole, North Carrick & Coylton (Four Councillors) Brian Connolly, Independent; Ann Galbraith, Scottish Conservative & Unionist; Sandra Goldie, Scottish Labour Party; William James Grant, Scottish National Party (SNP); Mairi Low, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward 8: Girvan & South Carrick (Three Councillors) Alec Clark, Independent; Ian Fitzsimmons, Scottish Conservative & Unionist ; John McDowall, Scottish Labour Party; Alec Oattes, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Further information on the candidates and the council election – including details of how to register to vote – can be found at

In line with the direction from the Convener of the Electoral Management Board for Scotland, Mary Pitcaithly, the count for the South Ayrshire Council election will take place on Friday, May 4, starting at 9am.

The Direction states: “Having considered the issues surrounding the timing of counts and undertaken a consultation exercise with various interested groups, I am directing all Returning Officers in Scotland that no ballot box is to be opened and no vote counted before 8am on Friday 4 May 2012.”

The South Ayrshire count will take place at the Citadel Leisure Centre, South Beach Road, Ayr.