Carrick Academy’s student awards

editorial image

Carrick Academy’s annual Awards Ceremony was held in The Carrick Centre on Tuesday, June 21.

The South Carrick Industrialist`s Prize and Ramsay Medal for Dux of Junior School went to Drew Maxwell. The South Carrick Industrialist`s Prize and Don Medal for Dux of Senior School went to joint winners , Olivia Purdie and Kerr Maxwell.

Ayrshire College Citizenship Award winner was Kieran Robb. The Carrick Centre Award for Services To The Community in Memory of Alan Murray - Ross Ward and Ewan MacDonald.

Rotary Club of Ayr ‘Young Citizen of the Year’ was Kayleigh Haggo.

Pupil Iain Fisher piped in special guests and Mrs Stevens, head teacher, who welcomed everyone.

The Senior Choir then sang Flashlight from Pitch Perfect 2 and the school report was read by new captains Lewis Burns and Kieran Robb. (as in photo)

This was followed by a photo story of the school year and a guitar solo Liam Dobbie who played Fly Me To The Moon and Scarborough Fair.

The main address was given by Patricia Murray of Ayrshire College before the presentation of Awards to S1-S3 pupils by Mr Baillie.

The choir then sang Titanium prior to the presentation of S4-S6, Sports and Special Awards by Mrs Baillie and Mrs McInroy.

Mrs Stevens presented School Captain and Dux Medals and School Captains Abigail McGradey and Andrew McColm brought the evening to a close before Iain Fisher piped everyone out.