Changes for Jean Falconer literary competition

The Jean Falconer Literary Competition has been organised annually by Maybole Community Council since 1988 but it’s just about to change.

The competition was set up in memory of the late Jean Falconer who was a founder member of Maybole Community Council in 1977, and played a key role in its formation over a number of years.

When she tragically died far too young, members wanted to remember her in some way and it was felt that a literary competition would be the most suitable way. Jean had a great interest in communication – she was editor of a local newspaper and was involved with West Sound radio station in its formative years.

Now the competition is changing in a way that reflects Jean’s other involvement in the community and last week new trophies were presented to all four local schools.

Following discussions with the four head teachers, the award will now be presented to a pupil, or pupils, who have made a significant contribution to the well being of their community or individuals within their community. The award should be focused very much on the notion of good citizenship.

This could be a pupil who is an unsung hero, one who quietly and steadily gets on with things, whose achievements are as significant and worthy as those of their higher profile peers but who does not get recognition because they do not seek or perhaps even shun the limelight.

Among the criteria which schools may take in to account are significant achievement by an individual; significant contribution to a project or activity which results in benefit to the school or wider community; involvement in activities which provide support for individuals in need such as carers, support for particular charities or good causes, active involvement in community support projects, environmental projects, or proactive involvement in the democratic process for example through pupil councils, youth parliament etc.

It will be for individual schools to decide on who should receive the award and the winners will hold the trophy for a year and retain a specially commissioned medal.

David Kiltie, chair of the community council added, “We are grateful for the continued support of our local schools and we thank all staff who assisted in the past with the literary competition.

“Special thanks are offered to our judges for their time and expertise over the many years the Literary Competition was run. We would also like to thank everyone who entered the Jean Falconer Literary Competition over all these years.”

Photo shows head teachers Fiona McDougall, Cairn Primary; Keith Webster, Carrick Academy, Mary Scott, Gardenrose Primary; and Gemma Rooney, St Cuthbert’s Primary