Commonwealth Baton relay route announced

The route upon which the Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton relay will come through Carrick on Friday 20th June has been announced.

The baton will set off on its journey in Carrick from Ballantrae at 8.25am at the Main Street at Mains Road before moving onto Church Street, The Vennel and up the A77 departing the village at 8.42am.

And for those turning out to watch the baton in Ballantrae, the community council and development group will be serving breakfast from 7.30am-8.10am and once the baton has passed, they will also serve breakfast from 8.50-9.15.

By that time, the baton will have arrived in Girvan at 8.59 at the A77 at Rajput Drive before heading up through the town on Kirkpatrick Street, Henrietta Street, before turning onto Knockcushan Street. From there it will turn onto Bridge Street, before hitting Old Street and Vicarton Street, leaving Girvan at 9.31am.

The baton will arrive in Maybole at 11.23am setting off from Carrick Academy before going down the A77 on Kirkoswald Road, Whitehall, the high Street and Cassillis Road, heading for the rest of South Ayrshire at 11.47am.

And the Glasgow 2014 team have announced the list of baton runners for 20th June in Ballantrae, Girvan and Maybole.

In Ballantrae: Fraser Angus, William (Ricky) Taylor, Nicolas Taylor,Elizabeth Clark, ChristoTpher Durrant, Colin Duthie, Eric Johns.

In Girvan: Elaine Mitchell, Aimee Gardner, Robert Hill, Helena Menhinick, Chris Carlyle, Russell McEwan, Mason Rowan, Arran McGarvie, Catrina Andrew, Ian Queen, Christine Getgood, Katriona Bush.

In Maybole: Kayleigh Haggo, David Kiltie, Senga Mason, Peter Mason, Peter Corbett, Victoria Brown, Thomas McCulloch, Timothy Armer, Thomas Gaffikin, Graham Moore and Kirsty Craig.

Colourful Commonwealth flag bunting is being put up along the Queen’s Baton Relay route in South Ayrshire providing a quick and easy visual indicator of the route – and to generate excitement in the lead-up to this exciting day later this month.