Duck race fun at Colmonell

Colmonell Community Association organised a duck race to raise money for the Ayrshire Hospice and the Neonatal Unit at the Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow.

Over £1300 was raised for each cause.

The first 20 ducks across the finish line won a prize.

Prizewinners were: 1st (£200) Grace Hurcomb, 2nd (£100) Ian Terry, 3rd (£50) Gary McKie, 4th (Fishing & lunch for 2 people on Kirkhill stretch of River Stinchar) Aileen McGinlay, 5th (Fishing for 2 people on Dalreoch stretch of River Stinchar) Hugh Gregg, 6th (Meal for 4 at Boars Head Hotel) Ruth Crawford, 7th (Afternoon tea for 2 at Glenapp Castle) J White, 8th (£30) Barry Robertson, 9th (£20 meal voucher for Kings Arms) Stuart Clarke & Rita McGradey, 10th (£20 meal voucher for Woodlands) Heather Milroy, 11th (Bottle of whisky) J Cathcart, 12th (Bottle of whisky) Moira Edwards, 13th (Bottle of whisky) Jamie Dunlop, 14th (£10 voucher Hendries butcher) Carol McCrindle, 15th (£10 voucher Craigiemains Garden Centre) Gilbert Browne, 16th (£10) Kirsteen Davidson, 17th (£10) Neil Sykes, 18th (£10) C Drummond, 19th (£10) A Thieman, 20th (£10) James Strain (Snr).

The duck race was generously sponsored by the following businesses and local people: R Shankland & Sons, J Hyslop, Kirkhill, Bardrochat Estates, Boars Head Hotel, G Browne, Hope Homes, Craigiemains Garden Centre, Knockdolian Estates, Robertson Plant Hire Ltd, Glenapp Castle, Kings Arms Hotel, Woodland Bay Hotel, Hendries Butcher, R Cook Plant Hire Ltd and Bynehill Caravan Park.

Colmonell Fun Week Prizewinners

Clay Pigeon Shoot, kindly organised by Knockdolian Gun Club and sponsored by J & W Dunlop. Down the line, 1st Finley Bell, 2nd Stuart Clarke, 3rd Peter Allison. Pool shoot David McCulloch.

Quiz, kindly organised by Heather O’Hare and sponsored by Mr & Mrs I McQuiston, winning team Cutchy’s Cleverclogs, runners up Fire Station.

Fun run kindly sponsored by W Hyslop & sons. Men: 1st Ian Hannah, 2nd Stephen McDowall, 3rd John Goodenough. Women: 1st Elaine Rennie, 2nd Bronagh Beattie, 3rd Emer Beattie. Boys: 1st Jacob McFarlane, 2nd James Hyslop, 3rd Callen Kennedy. Girls: 1st Mia Gurling, 2nd Ruth Conaghan.

Treasure map winners Marion McQuiston, Keiron Shankland and Ian Allan. Lucky programme winners 1st Anne Hyslop, 2nd Sandy Wilson, 3rd David Clark. Football tournament winners Boars Head, runners up Nestle. Under 16’s winners: Joshua Mitchell, John Kerr, James Hyslop and Cameron McGregor. Anne Lawrence trophy winner Aliyah Aubad.

Colmonell Baby & Toddler Group quiz winner - Jennifer Comery; Colmonell Baby & Toddler Group hamper winner - Jill Dunlop