Golden day at Holyrood for south Ayrshire youngsters

Some of the gold award winners from South Ayrshire
Some of the gold award winners from South Ayrshire

Young people from across South Ayrshire were invited to the Palace of Holyrood House in Edinburgh on 3 July 2013 to receive their Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. This was one of the biggest ever groups of young people from South Ayrshire receiving their Award.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is open to young people aged between 14 and 25 years, who undertake the Award at either Bronze, Silver or Gold levels with each level’s programme including sections on volunteering, physical, skills and expedition. Gold participants also have to complete a residential section.

Projects undertaken by South Ayrshire participants in The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award include volunteering in the local community, dancing, environmental projects, art and craft activities and physical challenges including hiking, sailing, horse riding and snowboarding.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards is embedded in South Ayrshire Council schools linked to Curriculum for Excellence and offers all pupils the opportunity to take part in the Award programme which has been life changing for lots of young people.

Gold recipients from South Ayrshire are: Allison Craig; Eilidh Cruse; Euan Webster; Amy Murdoch; Rebecca McPherson; Lucy Maxwell; Kate Maxwell; Amanda Houston; Kaitlin Vallance; Jonathan Lappen; Lisa MacMillan; Helen Hunter; Zoe Raynor; Nicola Dunn; Fraser Hodge; Carly McGarva; Fionn Corbett; Anthony Reilly; Lynne Smeeton; Lindsay Smith; Alexis Florides; Briony Johnstone; Lisa Croniken; Isla Ferguson; Victoria Smith; Kirsty Little; Seonaid Frew; Rachel Alexander; Rachel Cowan; Lewis Brown; Catherine Connolly; Carra Woods and Laurie McKillop.