Outstanding people named in South Ayrshire awards list

Previous winners of the outstanding people award.
Previous winners of the outstanding people award.

South Ayrshire’s unsung heroes are about to be announced as part of the Outstanding People Awards (TOPA).

The annual awards ceremony, hosted by the Council, takes place at Ayr Racecourse on November 17.

This year the awards, which recognise exceptional service and contributions to the community, drew a record number of nominations with more than 160 people put forward from across the Council and the wider community.

The nominations have now been whittled down to the final shortlist, with 38 nominated people, teams, and organisations preparing to find out the winners of the 12 main categories.

Eileen Howat, Chief Executive at South Ayrshire Council, said, “The Outstanding People Awards recognise exceptional efforts to deliver first-class service to people across South Ayrshire and the nominations we’ve had this year are testament to the hard work and dedication that we see each and every day.

“We’ve had a fantastic response this year with record entries from across the council and from the wider community.

“I’d like to thank everybody who has taken the time to recognise the efforts of a colleague, friend, or service provider this year, and wish everyone coming along on the night the very best of luck.”

The awards reflect the Council’s collective standards known as the South Ayrshire Way, which aim to deliver an excellent level of customer service across the board.

“This is achieved by ensuring that all staff focus on the needs of our customers when planning and delivering our services.”

All nominees will receive a bronze award with finalists from each category with the highest scores across all judges receiving a silver award. Each silver award winner is invited to attend the awards ceremony at Ayr Racecourse where the gold award winner for each category is announced.

The Outstanding People Awards – 2016 shortlist

Young employee; Courtney Griffiths; Craig Grimason and Steven Boyle; Kyle McKay; Toni Vane

Community group; Breastfeeding Network (South Ayrshire); Clean up Tarbolton woods; Fullarton Fairy Trail School; Grammar Primary School; Kingcase Primary; Sacred Heart Primary

Contribution to the economy; Scottish International Airshow project team; Employability and Skills team; Silver multi-agency group (The Open)

Service to children and families; Educational Services Home Link team; The Giving Team; Karla Johnson; Daniella Fulton and Karen Miller; Mhairi Wilson

Service to adults and older people; Emergency response team; Invigor8; Mobile Attendant team

Service to the community; Claire Earnshaw; Customer services team; FEVA project

Contribution to improve the environment; Litter pickers at the Scottish Airshow; Shirley Conner and Lisa Wilson

Improvement; Stewart McCall; Heather Michael; Benefits Team; Council Tax Govtech Project Team

Employee; Linda Goodwin; Gordon Patterson; Sara Burdon; William Adams

Outstanding team; South Ayrshire Way; Business Improvement Team; Oracle payroll project; IiYP working group

The Chief Executive’s Award 2016 will be announced on the night.