Raegan wins Gardenrose top award

Raegan Farrol is this years winner of the Jean Falconer award at Gardenrose Primary School.
Raegan Farrol is this years winner of the Jean Falconer award at Gardenrose Primary School.

The winner of this year’s Jean Falconer award at Gardenrose Primary School has been announced as Raegan Farrol.

This comes after Claire Bryan was awarded the same title from Carrick Academy earlier this month.

The award is given out in memory of Jean who was one of the founding members of Maybole Community Council in 1977 and she played a key role in its formation over a number of years.

The Community Council set up an award in her name in 1988 and when she tragically died far too young members wanted to remember her in some way and it was felt that a literary competition would be the most suitable way.

Jean had a great interest in communication – she was editor of a local newspaper and was involved with West Sound radio station in its formative years.

In 2011 the competition changed in a way that reflects Jean’s other involvement in the community and new trophies were presented to all four local schools.

Following discussions with the four head teachers, the award is now presented to a pupil, or pupils, who have made a significant contribution to the wellbeing of their community or individuals within their community.

The award should be focused very much on the notion of good citizenship.

This could be a pupil who is an unsung hero, one who quietly and steadily gets on with things, whose achievements are as significant and worthy as those of their higher profile peers but who does not get recognition because they do not seek or perhaps even shun the limelight.

Among the criteria which schools can take in to account are significant achievement by an individual; significant contribution to a project or activity which results in benefit to the school or wider community; involvement in activities which provide support for individuals in need such as carers, support for particular charities or good causes, active involvement in community support projects, environmental projects, or proactive involvement in the democratic process for example through pupil councils, youth parliament etc.

However, It’s up to individual schools to decide on who should receive the award.