South Ayrshire initiative still needs your vote!

There is still time to vote for the People’s Choice Award in the Scottish Community Safety Network (SCSN) for a Safer Communities Awards 2013 and support Reckless Driving Wrecks Lives. The groundbreaking initiative, organised and hosted by the South Ayrshire Community Safety Partnership, has been shortlisted for an award.

The Safer Communities Awards celebrate the vital work of public, private and third sector organisations undertake to make Scotland a safer place to live work and visit. Through their endeavours projects such as Reckless Driving Wrecks Lives have made a significant contribution to keeping communities safer.

Councillor Rita Miller, Chair of the South Ayrshire Community Safety Partnership said: “Please vote for Reckless Driving Wrecks Lives and show your appreciation and support for an initiative that has a positive influence on young drivers and their friends who travel with them.

“Being shortlisted for such a prestigious award, and to be part of promoting and celebrating the achievements of Scotland’s Community Safety, is a great honour.”

This year more than 2,000 S5 and S6 students from 22 secondary schools from across Ayrshire watched some very moving, inspirational and heartbreaking presentations about the importance of road safety. The aim is to improve road safety among new and learner drivers and their passengers through a series of thought provoking presentations.

Delivered at the Odeon cinema in Ayr, the students heard first-hand, graphic details from our partners in emergency services as to what happens during and after a serious road crash and the immediate impact this has on family and friends.

The winner of the People’s Choice Award, sponsored by Network Rail, will be decided by online voting. Voting is open until 5pm on 29 August 2013 cast your vote at

The People’s Choice and all category winners will be announced at the National Community Safety Annual Dinner and Awards ceremony in the Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow on 9 September 2013.