Wilson is elected in SNP landslide

The SNP’s Corri Wilson secured a stunning victory in Thursday’s General Election as she ousted Sandra Osborne by more than 11,000 votes.

As the SNP swept all before them on a historic election night in Scotland, winning 56 out of the 59 seats, it was Ayr East councillor Ms Wilson who was elected to serve as the MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock.

It meant a departure for Sandra Osborne, who had been a MP since first being elected in the Labour landslide of 1997.

In total, Corri Wilson got 25,492 votes winning close to 49% of the 52,268 votes cast across the consitutency with Sandra Osborne a distant second with 14,227 votes.

The Scottish Conservative and Unionist candidate Lee Lyons got 10,355 votes, which was down on the 11,721 votes Bill Grant received for the party in 2010, but party sources seemed content that their vote share had remained reasonably strong against a SNP surge.

The UK Independence Party’s candidate Joseph Adam-Smith beat the Liberal Democrats Richard Brodie into fourth place winning 1,280 votes to Mr Brodie’s 855. Neither of them were present at the count in Ayr on Thursday night.

Speaking moments after she’d been elected, Corri Wilson said: “I’m absolutely delighted to be elected, the feedback we were getting on the doorsteps mirrored what we were getting in the polls, but you can’t take anything for granted. The people of Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock have spoken and this is what they want and I’ll deliver for them.

“I think there has been a political awakening since the referendum last year, people have started to enage and have conversations about things and it’s opened people’s minds.

“Politics is something people are excited about and they realise they can actually influence the change.

“My priorities are about boosting the economy and getting jobs for people and making sure this constituency gets back on the map and to the way it should be.”

SNP Councillor Alec Oattes added: “We weren’t expecting that sort of margin but I’m just really delighted for Corri and the local team who were great and fought hard.

“I understand that each polling station in Girvan and South Carrick voted in a majority for the SNP so I’m really pleased at that. For me, I’ve been 50 years in the SNP and it’s been a momentous night nationally and locally.

“I’m slightly disappointed that at this moment it looks as though the SNP and Labour will be in opposition and I’m sorry about that as I’d rather have seen those parties and the Greens and maybe even the Lib Dems work together to oppose the Conservatives.

“The Conservatives are the party of real austerity and the party of millionaires and that’s who they look out for.”

The SNP swept the board across the whole of Ayrshire with Dr Philippa Whitford winning the Central Ayrshire consituency with 26,999 votes in a landslide victory over incumbent Labour MP Brian Donohoe who got 13,410 votes.

And in Kilmarnock and Loudon, which was the first constituency in Scotland to declare, Cathy Jamieson lost her seat as the SNP’s Alan Brown won by a majority of 13,638 and in North Ayrshire and Arran Patricia Gibson won by a majority of 13,573 over Labour’s Katy Clark.

Commenting on those results, Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley MSP Adam Ingram said: “I would like to congratulate our newly elected Ayrshire MPs and their team of activists who have worked tirelessly throughout this campaign and the additional 52 SNP MPs and their campaign teams across the country.

“The results across Scotland are unprecedented with Scotland’s political map awash in yellow – something the UK Government must consider very carefully.

“The SNP had the support from 1,454,436 people across Scotland – that’s the most votes ever for a single party in an election in Scotland. Our team of SNP MPs will ensure Scotland’s voice is heard arguing for an alternative to austerity, ending the abhorrent bedroom tax, protecting our NHS and vital public services and arguing against the renewal of trident.

He added: “We have witnessed a seismic shift and our SNP MPs will be a strong force for change which the Scottish electorate are seeking – a continued Conservative austerity plan has been rejected by the majority of people in Scotland and our SNP MPs will take that message to the heart of Westminster.”