Ayr Roads Cycling club head to Falkirk for Cyclo-Cross series

Paul Gibson leads Robert Kelly at Callendar Park Cyclo-Cross.
Paul Gibson leads Robert Kelly at Callendar Park Cyclo-Cross.

Callendar Park in Falkirk hosted the first round of the 2014 Scottish Cyclo-Cross series, where an astonishing 460 riders arrived to race this hotly anticipated event. Ayr Roads CC - Harry Fairbairn BMW - Sprockets.com fielded seven riders, spread between the categories of under age 14 youths, over 40 years mens, and the under 40 mens race. Harry McGarvie was the first Ayr Roads competitor of the day, riding to a solid 18th position in his Cyclo Cross debut.

In the over 40’s race, Paul Gibson was the highest placed club member with a finishing position of 40th in a huge field of nearly 120 riders. In the last event of the day, Rab Wardell of Orange Monkey Pro Team rode a fearsome pace to claim the top honour, followed closely by Davie Lines of Starley Primal Race Team in what was an epic battle that enthralled the large crowds gathered around Callendar House. Best club position was taken by JP Baxter in 27th position.

The Carrick Hills provided the venue for the club confined Hill Climb trophy, which is the traditional end to the road racing season. Conditions were blustery, with a strong head wind hampering the riders, but Ed Clifton showed strength and great form to record an impressive winning time. The current course record is held by Peter Blane, who in 1984 recorded a time of 2 minutes and 51 seconds. Full results as follows :

Ed Clifton 3:16

Scott Knox 3:50

Chris Johnson 4:02

Rod Henderson 4:12

Janet Erskine 4:17

Bobby McGhee 4:22

Andrew Kent 4:33

Tom Gooding-Hill5:04

Chris Scott (Junior)5:13

Duncan McArthur 5:36