Ayr Roads cycling club take part in 10 mile time trial championships

Ollie Kelly and Aaron Gibson at the Tulliallan Criterium.
Ollie Kelly and Aaron Gibson at the Tulliallan Criterium.

Cyclists from far and wide assembled in Ayrshire last weekend for the Scottish National 10 mile Time Trial Championships. This event is one of the highlights of the cycling calendar, with 105 riders taking to the start line at Eglington Park on a very damp Sunday morning.

Ayr Roads-Harry Fairbairn BMW-Sprockets.com had no less than ten members competing, two in the ladies championship and eight in the mens event. Although the conditions were wet, some fast times were on the cards with the wind being very amiable on the A78 course.

The ladies contest was won by Lucy Coldwell of Velosport Pasta-Montegrappa in a time of 22:30, with Toni MacIntosh of Ayr Roads CC claiming 4th place with 23:36. Lynne Wardrop secured 6th position for the club with a time of 24:25.

In the mens event Ian Grant took the top prize with a fabulous time of 19:40, equating to an average speed of over 30 miles per hour. The highest placed Ayr Roads CC rider was Kenny Armstrong, who recorded a time of 21:29 to finish in 25th position. Times for the remaining club members as follows :

Michael Robb 21:43, Paul Gibson 22:15, Alastair McGibbon 22:16, Michael Curran 22:25, Kevin Brown 22:35, Brian Nicol 22:51, Robert Kelly 22:52.

Tulliallan was the venue for round 2 of the Wallace Warriors Youth Criterium series, where Ayr Roads had two young members racing in the club colours. In the Youth E Male category, Ollie Kelly continued his excellent 2014 form with a 3rd place, whilst Aaron Gibson secured a fantastic 6th position on his competitive debut.