Ayrshire clubs among the prizes

Robert Kelly and Alex McAllister in focus at the start of the event.
Robert Kelly and Alex McAllister in focus at the start of the event.

Against teams from all over Scotland the three Ayrshire Clubs that competed in the first time trial of the season were amongst the prizewinners on Sunday.

The event was promoted by Fullarton Wheelers, Irvine on the A78 course.

Leading the way was Ayr Roads/Harry Fairbairn CC. In wet conditions Ayr Roads riders lifted four prizes.

The club’s ladies team of Toni McIntosh and Janet Erskine, both Scottish Gold Medallists, took the 1st Ladies prize, with an excellent time of 24 minutes 43 seconds.

In overall 3rd place Ed Clifton and Alastair McGibbon recorded 22m29s.

From the start it was known that Ed and Alastair would be up against the other Ayrshire pairing of Tony Scot and Marc Anderson of Loudoun Road Club. Tony and Scot beat the Ayr Roads pair by 22 seconds to take second place in a time of 22m07s.

The winning team came from the Glasgow Cycle Team with a time of 21m57s The riders were Andy Brown and Lewis Mulholland. Andy was the Scottish Junior BAR Champion in 2015 and Sunday’s event was his first as a senior rider.

Ayr Roads club veterans didn’t disappoint with Alex McAllister and Robert Kelly finishing fourth overall in an excellent time of 22m57s, just 28 seconds behind their third place team mates. Not only did they secure 4th place but were also 1st Veterans.

The mixed husband and wife award went to Brian and Jennifer Nicol of Fullarton Wheelers.

As predicted however, the fastest team on the day was the composite pairing of Michael Robb, Ayr Roads CC and Mark Skilling of Icarus CC with a sub 22 minute ride of 21m31s. Both are holders of Ayr Roads Individual and Team Records. However, because the event was promoted under British Cycling regulations, a composite team cannot qualify for prizes.

Ayr Roads had originally fielded seven teams and two composite teams, but due to illness one team withdrew and Harry Brawley replaced Calum Hume in the other. Harry was partnered by Jody Gerrard and was delighted to break the 25 minute barrier for the first time with a time of 24m08s.

Other Ayr Roads times were: Kevin Brown and Michael Curran 23m06s; Scott Knox and Bobby McGhee 26m11s; Simon Woodliff, Ayr Roads Road Race and National Circuit RR Champion partnered Chris McConnell of Loudoun RC and recorded a mid 23m.

Overall the three Ayrshire Clubs can take comfort that their on the right direction for good performances as the season progresses.

The fourth and final round of the Super Quaich Cyclo Cross series also took place on Sunday at Bo’ness. Super vet Fraser Tait took third place in his age category and remains well positioned in the overall series. Andrew Kent finished 10th in his age category. Paul Gibson did not finish, due to mechanical problems.

On Saturday night club members celebrated their annual dinner and presentation of awards, held at the Savoy Park Hotel, where club member and owner Rod Henderson excelled as usual by providing a lovely dinner.

The club champions for the 2015 season were:

Club and Senior BAR - Kenny Armstrong

Ladies Senior BAR Champion - Toni McIntosh

Road Race Trophy – Simon Woodliff

Men’s League Champion – Bobby McGhee

Ladies League Champion – Janet Erskine

Veteran’s League Champion – Bobby McGhee

Turnberry Circuit Trophy – Calum Hume

Hill Climb Champion – Ed Clifton

Davie Bell RR Champion – Lynne Wardrop

Club Evening 10 League Trophy – John Mason

Track Trophy – John Mason

Off Road Trophy – Janet Erskine

Mason Trophy – Simon Woodliff

Sportive Trophy – Andrew Kent

Tourist Trophy – Calum Hume

Club Member of the Year (The Ayr Provost’s Trophy) – Scott Maclean

In National Championship events held in 2015 Ayr Roads CC won:

5 National Championship Gold Medals

2 National Championship Silver Medals

3 National Championship Bronze Medals

A truly amazing record for the club and Ayrshire Cycling.

The club was saddened with the news that Peter Blane, Life member passed awaylast week.

Peter had been a life long member of the club and was responsible for the publication and editing of the two “Highwayman” Books compiled from the diaries of Davie Bell. He will be a sad loss to cycling and the club offers its condolences to Eunice, Peter and Alan.