Carrick Colts collect end of season awards

editorial image
Share this article

Carrick Colts 2004 team held its annual presentation of awards in Carrick Sports Club on Friday (July 6).

The main trophy winners were: Player of the Year – Findlay Paton; Players’ Player of the Year – Dylan Conkie;

Most Improved Player – Thomas Cuthbert; Best Trainers – Adam Collins and Sean McIlroy.

A special highlight of the evening was that of the league trophy being presented to Maybole Juniors for winning promotion to the West 1st Division. Manager Lawrie Dinwoodie and assistant manager Peter Leonard spoke to the young footballers and congratulated them on their success before presenting the trophies and medals.

They were thanked by the boys’ manager Andy Conkie who went on to thank Sandy and Alice Abbott who have kindly agreed to sponsor new strips for next season.

This coming season the team will be changing from playing as Carrick Colts to being the first to play as part of Maybole Juniors Youth Football Club. They will be training at Ladywell Stadium to start with - including some friendlies there - and then at Carrick Academy during the winter.

Andy Conkie thanked Maybole Juniors for the opportunity and wished them well for the new season.