Curling club look for new members

Share this article

Girvan’s curling club is urgently looking for new members to ensure the future of the sport in the town.

The Harbourhead Restaurant was the venue for Girvan Curling Club’s Dinner, AGM and presentation of prizes on 29th May 2013.

President Andrew Kyle thanked the Owners and staff of the venue for a most enjoyable meal served in excellent style and then opened the Annual General Meeting at which the principal matter for discussion was, if and how, the Curling Club would continue. This unfortunate situation has evolved through falling membership and lack of interest from potential younger members. Andrew paid tribute to a number of Ladies who throughout the past season have assisted in ensuring that games in the Syllabus were fulfilled.

After a full discussion it was decided that for Season 2013/2014 a smaller number of games would be arranged and a number of discussions and meetings would be on-going to try to attract new members to ensure curling would continue in the future.

Trophy Winners for the past season were presented as follows; Ramshorn :- D Logan Skip, W Yuille, R Tait, D Noble.; McCreath Medal :- I McKechnie, W Shields, W Dunlop, I Morton.; Monument :- A Ross, I Morton, Janette Delargy, D Noble.; Waterjug :- I Morton, Helen Brown , Karen Noble, R Tait; G Chrystal Points :- I McKechnie. H & N Logan Cup :-Girvan Ladies; Reid Cup :- Girvan. Alexander :-Pinmore.; Graham Dines Salver:- A Ross, Helen Brown, W Shields, Karen Noble

If this article stimulates an interest in any age group in finding out more about becoming a Curler, kindly contact Ian McGregor, 01465 712214. Curling is a very sociable sport enjoyed by Young, Old, Middle Aged, Male and Female so don’t hesitate. If you would like to give it a try, pick up the phone to declare your interest.

Down Memory Lane :- Landmarks in Girvan Curling Club history

Girvan Curing Club instituted on 27.2 1827

The Grand Caledonian Curling Club formed 1838. Royal title bestowed 1843.

1st October 1907 First indoor rink in Scotland at Crossmyloof Glasgow opened.

1936/37 W H Forbes skipped winning Girvan rink in Eglinton Jug.

A feat repeated in seasons 1942/43 And 1944/45.

13th March 1939 The Ayr Ice rink opened.

1968 Girvan Curling Club minutes “Noted. Ladies Club has been formed”.

1969 James Stewart (Halla) Colmonell Club set Points record at Ayr scoring 57.

31st October 1970 Stranraer Ice Rink opened.

1972 Original Ayr Ice rink closed. New Rink at Tam’s Brig built in1973.

10th February 1978 150th Birthday Dinner/Dance held a Kings Arms Hotel Girvan.

7th February 1979 Grand Match held at Lake of Menteith. Girvan represented by Noel Ross, Willie Logan, George Chrystal and Robin Smith.

4th November 2002 175th Anniversary Bonspiel, North West Castle Ice Rink, Stranraer.

Curling characters of fond memory :- Bill Bone, Colin Bone, John Brown, Ian Bryson, George Chrystal, Donnie Houston, Willie Hyslop, Herbert Logan, R B Y Thomson.