First road racing action

The afternoon of Sunday 20 March saw the first road racing action of the 2016 season with the running of two races at Fenwick courtesy of Walkers Cycling Club.

Ayr Roads CC/Harry Fairbairn BMW was well represented with 4 riders in the A Race and 6 in the support race. Most of the best racers in Scotland had travelled to Fenwick to test their early season form and the first of the 17-mile laps was run off at a very fast average speed of 26 mph. Some tactical riding on the second lap saw the speed drop but only slightly as the favourites waited for the difficult final mile to the finish line. It was a bunch of 35 riders who contested the sprint with former professional Martin Lonie taking the honours. Best-placed for the Ayr club was Simon Woodliff in 14th spot closely followed by Greg Templeton and Kenny Armstrong. Simon was also the first of the Ayrshire riders to finish. In the B Race 11 riders clipped off the front early on and 7 of them stayed away to take the prizes. Unfortunately no Ayr Roads riders were in the move and Calum MacDonald was the club’s best finisher in 15th place with Tim Dyer of the host club best local rider in 12th

Several club members took advantage of the sunny weather on Good Friday to get some miles in their legs. Most contented themselves with a circuit through the ‘Ayrshire Alps’ on the Galloway borders.

However Tom Gooding-Hill had family commitments which required his presence at Center Parcs in Cumbria. Determined not to miss out, he just rode his bike there from Ayrshire racking up 125 miles and 8 hours in the saddle.

Last Saturday saw the first 10-mile time trial race of the season on the West Ferry course at Langbank. Ayr CC man Alastair McGibbon tested his new bike successfully with an excellent 13th place in a time of 22 minutes 34 seconds despite some grim weather. Robert Kelly stopped the watch at 23:49. In better conditions on Sunday 15 members took part in the first club league event of the year; an individual time trial on the steep Ballycoach road between Dalrymple and Kirkmichael. Best of the men was Ed Clifton and fastest woman was Janet Erskine.