Ladies triumph in national trials

Ayr Roads/Harry Fairbairn Cycling Club ladies team of Toni McIntosh and Janet Erskine took the ladies Team Gold in the Scottish 10 Mile Time Trial National Championships on Sunday.

Up against the best teams in the country, the pair emulated Ayr Roads team successes of last season.

The pair along with their male counterparts made the trip to Dundee, where the event was promoted by Dundee Thistle CC.

Toni was just short of a bronze medal finishing 4th and Janet 7th. In the ladies team competition, only two riders count. In the event of a puncture or a mechanical, a third team member is essential should a puncture or mechanical fault occur.

Ayr Roads has been fortunate in having the best ladies team in the country with Toni, Janet and Lynne Wardrop. Lynne was unable to ride the event this year, so a lot of pressure was on these two young women representing their club and county, but they delivered the result.

Toni’s time was 24 minutes 57 seconds and Janet 25:39.

The full results have not yet been published and will be notified next

Janet Erskine and Toni McIntosh 2016 Scottish Gold Medallists

In the club’s confined evening 10 Mile TT on Thursday night, Kenny Armstrong broke the club’s 10 mile TT record with a stunning time of 20 minutes 25 seconds.

He broke the previous record held by Michael Robb by 18 seconds, which has stood since 2012.

Armstrong was on for a 19 minure ride, but conditions were not just right for a sub 20 minute ride. Given that this was early May, it is possible that the club record will be reduced further this year.

The club team record was only 7 seconds away from beig beaten too. Michael Robb is slowly returning to form and was second with a time of 22:01. Other times were: 3rd Ed Clifton 22:17 4th Michael Curran 22:45

5th Alastair McGibbon 22:50

6th Calum McDonald 23:26

7th Kev Brown 23:35

8th Toni McIntosh

9th Harry Brawley

10th= Scott Knox 24:33 Personal best

10th= Janet Erskine 24:33

11th Tom G. Hill 24:35

12th Duncan McArthur 25:20

13th Grant Young 25:27

14th Bobby McGhee 25:46

15th Michael McClelland 25:47 Personal best

16th Ross Mulvennan 26:06 This was Ross.s first ever time trial.

17th Andy Kent 26:41

18th Jim Smith 26:53

19th Beth McCrae 30:07 Personal best

On the non racing front, Ayr Roads members have been bagging the miles in all parts of the country. One member has just returned from a Majorcan trip. Another has just completed a north to south tour of Ireland.

Nearer to home, another group completed a tour of Galloway and the mid week brigade took in the Nick o’Balloch and Barr circuit.