McGibbon seals overall time trial trophy

The picturesque roads around Ballater and Aboyne hosted this years Scottish National Team Time Trial, where Ayr Roads Cycling Club - Harry Fairbairn BMW - fielded one team of four riders.

A tough course awaited the competitors, being both exposed and hilly on many sections of the 32 mile loop.

The Ayr Roads CC team, consisting of Kenny Armstrong, Michael Curran, Alex McAllister and Calum Hume, finished in 11th place with a time of 1 hour and 16 minutes, with the gold medal being awarded to Dooleys Cycles with a time of 1 hour and ten minutes.

The last round of the Club confined 10 mile time trial trophy took place this week with Alistair McGibbon sealing a fine victory in this hard fought event. Running from May through till the end of August, winning overall requires consistency and the ability to perform in all conditions. Top five as follows :

1st Alastair McGibbon

2nd Alex McAllister

3rd Robert Kelly

4th John Mason

5th Duncan McArthur