Ayr Roads cyclists celebrate successful season at awards

Ayr Roads 2016 Trophy Winners
Ayr Roads 2016 Trophy Winners

With a blank weekend of cycling, members of Ayr Roads/Harry Fairbairn Cycling Club enjoyed their 2016 annual awards presentation at the Arrandale Hotel, Ayr, last Friday evening.

Club Chairman, Alex McAllister hosted the occasion by presenting various Championship trophies to the winners. Those collecting awards are left to right, Duncan McArthur (Evening ‘10’ League), Scott Maclean (Turnberry Circuit and Provost’s Trophy), Ed Clifton (Men’s League and Hill Climb Trophy), Janet Erskine (Ladies League and Road Race Champion – the first time ever a lady has won this championship), centre, Michael Curran (Club Senior Best All Rounder Champion). Michael is holding one of the oldest cycling trophy’s in Scottish Cycling dated 1897.

Scott Knox (Veteran’s), Toni McIntosh ( Senior Ladies B A R Champion) and Fraser Tait (Cyclo Cross)

Club member, Iona Fisher, a pupil of Carrick Academy, who took the photograph also accepted the Junior Champion trophy on behalf of her brother Iain, who is attending Newcastle University. Iona, deserves special mention for some top action photographs she has taken throughout the season. Many of which have appeared in the Gazette’s Cycling Columns.

Alex paid tribute to all the winners for making 2016 another successful year for the club, with the ladies team of Toni McIntosh and Janet Erskine taking national championship awards and of Toni setting new club records at 25 and 100 mile distances.

Next month will see the first trips abroad, with members heading for the Island of Majorca.

Last week saw the mid week group taking in one of the finest runs in Carrick, when they headed for the picturesque village of Barr, by way of Glenalla, before joining the Stinchar Valley at North Balloch. A stop at the community cafe at Barr village (well recommended), before taking the ‘Screws’ and dropping into the Girvan Valley and home by Kilkerran. A fine 65 miles logged.