Prize night for Ayr Roads cyclists

Ayr Roads prizegiving night
Ayr Roads prizegiving night

Saturday evening saw the annual Ayr Roads Cycling Club - Harry Fairbairn BMW - prize giving dinner, hosted by the Savoy Park Hotel.

Another successful year saw members achieve national awards, as well as exemplary performances in various club confined events which ranged from individual time trials to mountain bike challenges.

The club also raised £250 for club member Vic Posse’s chosen charity of the Marie Curie Cancer Care, collected through an entry fee for the 2014 Club League Competition.

Rouken Glen park played host to the penultimate CycloCross race of the season on Sunday, with 150 riders enjoying the blue sky conditions. Notable performances for the club included Pete Ferrier claiming 8th place and Andrew Kent in 10th. The ladies provided a strong showing, with Janet Erskine in 4th position and Joanne Baxter closely behind in 7th place.

Open League Champion; JP Baxter

Women’s League Champion; Janet Erskine

Vets League Champion; Bobby McGhee

Junior League Champion; Harry McGarvie

Road Race Trophy; Oliver Kelly

Senior BAR; Brian Nicol

Ladies BAR; Toni McIntosh

Vets BAR; Paul Gibson

Turnberry Circuit; Kenneth Armstrong

Hill Climb; Ed Clifton

Pennyglen Circuit; Kenneth Armstrong

Evening 10 Champion; Alastair McGibbon

Mason Trophy; Toni McIntosh

Track Trophy; John Mason

Off-Road Trophy; JP Baxter

Sportive Trophy; Paul McGhee

Tourist Trophy; Dave Clifford

Club member of the year; Scott Maclean