Rhins edge annual curling match

The annual Rhins o’ Gallowa’ Province v Carrick District match took place at Stranraer where 48 curlers took to the ice for custody of the Dalrymple Cup.

At the end of the first session the score was Carrick 25, Rhins 12. When the final bell rang out the sides were tied at 38 shots each so the last stones were very important but Rhins just managed to edge in front.

The results were; Leswalt 2 Kirkcoswald 8; Loch Connel 4 Colmonell 11; Port patrick 6 Craigengillen 6; Logan 8 Straiton 7; Stoneykirk 14 Girvan ladies 2; Castle Kennedy 6 Crosshill 4. Final score Rhins 40 Carrick 38.

Rhins president Donald McColm chaired the presentation and called on Robert White to present the trophies and prizes to Norman Brown, Alec Fergusson, Lyn Brown and J. Norman Brown of Stoneykirk CC.

Highest up on the losing side was Colmonell skipped by Johnny Logan with Grace Hurcomb, Ronnie Campbell and Margaret Logan.

A comprehensive vote of thanks was given by Donald McColm.