Stranraer curlers go to World Championships

Tom Roche, Neil Fyfe, PJ Wilson and Peter Wilson are heading for Canada in April to represent Ireland in the World Senior Curling Championships.
Tom Roche, Neil Fyfe, PJ Wilson and Peter Wilson are heading for Canada in April to represent Ireland in the World Senior Curling Championships.

TWO Stranraer curlers of a certain vintage booked their place to represent Ireland at the World Senior Curling Championships in Canada last weekend -–but they had to beat the current World Champions to do so!

PJ Wilson and Neil Fyfe were playing with Peter Wilson (who has strong Stranraer ties but now lives in Ireland) and Tom Roche from Hamilton in a best of five challenge against the rink of Johnjo Kenny, Bill Gray, David Whyte and Tony Tierney, the rink that made history last April by winning the world seniors’ tile in Copenhagen.

The rink skipped by Irish-based Peter, with PJ at third and Neil at second, won the play-off by three games to one and will now travel to Fredericton, New Brunswick, to try to retain the world title for Ireland from April 13-20.

Amazingly, this is the second time Peter Wilson has downed a current world champion. Thirty-two years ago, Peter challenged and beat the 1980 World Junior Champion rink, skipped by Andrew McQuistin, at Stranraer Ice Rink to qualify for the Scottish Junior Championships. After collecting the Scottish title, he and his rink then went on to win the World Junior title for Scotland in Megeve, France in 1981.

Galloway Province

DRAW for the Biggar Cup, sponsored by Penkiln Builders Merchants, will take place at Stranraer Ice Rink on Wednesday, January 30:

12.20pm: G Adams, Kirkcowan v J Wilson, Kirkmabreck; W Scott, Penninghame v S Cannon, Wigtown; Mrs H Smith, Glasserton v A McClymont, Minnigaff.

2.40pm: D Wilson, Kirkma-
breck v D McArthur, Minnigaff; J Kane, Wigtown v F Galloway, Glasserton; D Paton, Penning­hame v Mrs L Galloway, Glasserton.


THE Galloway Province league has encountered problems this season with clubs struggling to raise two rinks for the lunchtime session. So far this year Wigtown, Minnigaff and Glasserton have all forfeited games and shots because of lack of available players.


December 4: JT Cannon, Wigtown 7 P Soriani, Glasserton 5; Wigtown SCR 0 Glasserton W/O 6.

W Scott, Penninghame 1 A McClymont, Minnigaff 9; D Paton, Penninghame 7 D McArthur, Minnigaff 8.

December 21: G Cannon, Wigtown 16 A McClymont, Minnigaff 2; Wigtown W/O 6 Minnigaff SCR 0.

J Wilson, Kirkmabreck 13 G Penrose, Glasserton 0; Kirkmabreck W/O 6 Glasserton SCR 0.

January 7: L Kerr, Glasserton 7 J Maitland, Minnigaff 9; L Galloway, Glasserton 4 D McArthur, Minnigaff 8.

D Wilson, Kirkmabreck 8 D Paton, Penningame 6; J Wilson, Kirkmabeck 4 W Scott, Penninghame 17.

Stranraer Ladies

Turner & Ewing Salver

Stranraer Ladies Curling Club held the annual bonspiel to compete for the Turner & Ewing Salver. Twelve rinks curled over two sessions of curling to attempt to achieve the highest score of the day and win the trophy.

Six rinks took to the ice in the morning session, and Beryl Niven’s rink got the competition off to a great start with a final total of nine shots up against a rink skipped by Ena Drummond. The evening session saw the remaining six rinks striving to overtake Beryl’s lead. It looked as though Beryl was going to be victorious until the final end of the game between Anne Baynes and Maureen Parker. Anne managed to score four shots in the final end and won the game by eleven shots.