Success for Kerry-Liam Wilson and Molinaro in half marathon

Girvan’s annual half marathon took place on Sunday with the runners enjoying fine weather conditions and the event hailed as a success.

Kerry-Liam Wilson defended his title from last year coming home in first place in a time of one hour 13 minutes and 18 seconds.

The winner of the Girvan Half Marathon: Kerry Liam-Wilson ' 1:13:18

The winner of the Girvan Half Marathon: Kerry Liam-Wilson ' 1:13:18

And the first female to finish was Carla Molinaro of the Bellahouston Road Runners who crossed the line in one hour 24 minutes and 22 seconds.

There was an increase of 38 riders on the 2013 event with 118 runners tackling the half marathon course which starts and finishes at Hamilton Park in Girvan.

The prize winners were as follows:

1st Male, Kerry-Liam Wilson, Ronhill Cambuslang, 01:13:18.

2nd Male,Bruce Carmichael, Bellahouston Road Runners, 01:15:55.

3rd Male,Andrew Joyce, Stornoway AC,01:16:03.

1st Female,Carla Molinaro,Bellahouston Road Runners,01:24:22.

2nd Female,Laura Wallace,Ayr Seaforth, 01:28:03.

3rd Female, Deborah Gray,Bellahouston Road Runners,01:29:28.

Male 40+,James Healy, Ronhill Cambuslang, 01:18:40.

Male 50+,Dave Thom,Ronhill Cambuslang,01:28:19.

Male 60+,Robin Scott,Kilbrachan Athletics,01:36:36.

Female 35+,Elaine Somerville,Bellahouston Road Runners, 01:34:14.

Female 45+,Pamela McCrossan,Clydesdale Harriers,01:34:07.

Female 55+,Mary Miller,Irvine Running club,01:50:34.

Male Team Prize, Ronhill Cambuslang, Kerry-Liam Wilson, James Healy,Shazad Hakeem.

Female Team Prize,Bellahouston Road Runners, Carla Molinaro,Deborah Gray,Elaine Somerville.

Eileen Maxwell Memorial Trophy (Local Prize),Craig Murphy,Girvan Athletic Club.