Youngsters are taking over

Miren Basabe Kerr en route for her victory in Scottish Cycling's Criterium last Saturday
Miren Basabe Kerr en route for her victory in Scottish Cycling's Criterium last Saturday

Ayr Roads/Harry Fairbairn Cycling Club’s juniors are beginning to flourish in their first season.

Miren Basabe Kerr took first place in the Glasgow Dynamos Scottish Cycling West series ladies Criterium Race on Saturday. The win added to her 2nd placing in the Junior’s race at Bellahouston Park last Tuesday.

Ian Fisher earned another personal best in the club’s evening 10 Mile Time Trial in a time of 28 minutes 40 seconds. Over the past four weeks Ian has continued to improve.

Ten year old Ollie Kelly who is a member of Ayr Roads, but rides under the colours of Johnstone Jets, took 1st place in the Under 10’s race at Bellahouston and in the Scottish National Criterium Race at Stirling on Sunday, Ollie took second place. In the mainstream seniors group, Simon Woodliff took fifth in a hard fought John Davies Memorial Road Race.

Ayr Roads club members have always had an appetite for something different. So with the arrival of the summer solstice what better way than to celebrate the occasion than with a “Ride to the Sun”.

An event that would see three club members following the route of the Roman Legions from Carlisle to Cramond, a distance of over one hundred miles.

This all-nighter event is one of many that takes place throughout the UK. It takes place on the nearest Saturday to the summer solstice.

Scott Knox, Bobby McGhee and Ed Clifton were the Roads representatives. All three joined an exodus of nearly 900 cyclists from Carlisle in favourable conditions with a slight southerly tail wind.

The organisers even arranged for an all- night chippy half way at Moffat.

Another four personal bests were recorded in last Thursdays evening 10 mile Time Trial. The fastest time was recorded by Calum MacDonald in a time of 22:14. (Personal best). Calum has excelled in this short distance event in recent weeks. Other times were: Jody Gerrard 22:19; Duncan McArthur 23:37 pb; Toni McIntosh 23:37; Tom Gooding-Hill 23:42; Robert Kelly 23:54; Rory Webster 25:46 pb; Ian Fisher 28:40 pb